Current Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the AAS and is responsible for the management, direction, and control of the affairs and the property of the AAS. The official record of Board actions and resolutions is kept in the AAS Secretary's Office.


Kelsey Johnson

Kelsey Johnson

University of Virginia

Term: Jun 2022 – Jun 2024

Dara Norman


Term: Jun 2023 – Jun 2024

Adam Burgasser, Professor, Univ. of California, San Diego

Adam Burgasser

UC San Diego
Senior Vice President

Term: Jun 2021 – Jun 2024

Grant Tremblay, AAS Vice President

Grant Tremblay

Center for Astrophysics | Harvard & Smithsonian
Second Vice President

Term: Jun 2022 – Jun 2025

Dawn Gelino

Third Vice President

Term: Jun 2023 – Jun 2026

Doris Daou

NASA Planetary Science Division

Term: Jun 2020 – Jun 2026

Alice K. B. Monet

US Naval Observatory (retired)

Term: Jun 2019 – Jun 2025

Kevin Marvel

American Astronomical Society
Executive Officer

Term: Jun 2006 – Present

At-Large Trustees

Jane Rigby

NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Term: Jun 2021 – Jun 2024

Gregory-Louis (Lou) Strolger

Louis-Gregory Strolger

Space Telescope Science Institute

Term: Jun 2021 – Jun 2024

B. Ashley Zauderer-VanderLey

National Science Foundation

Term: Jun 2022 – Jun 2025

Lisa Prato

Lowell Observatory

Term: Jun 2023 – Jun 2026